WBKM 7th Birthday Party with Devin Gallucci, Bud and Budd The Kind Buds, The Seth Yacovone Band, and The Book ‘Em Blues Band at Nectar’s November 15, 2014   Leave a comment

Book 'Em Blues band at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by Wbkm

Book ‘Em Blues band at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by Wbkm

I had a great time seeing music at the Wbkm Dot Org 7th birthday party at Nectar’s on Saturday night. The show started around 7 but I had to work until 8. I did a reasonably quick turnaround at home and arrived a little after 9 and Bud & Budd ~ The Kind Buds were on stage. Everyone knew that Bud on the right was a great guitar player, but Bud on the left was pretty extraordinary too. Together they weaved their guitars and voices seamlessly to create some magical songs. I only caught a couple of songs but they seemed to have a pattern of creating a really nice song, then as it got into the middle section they brought the music to tremendous heights, before gently returning it to an average normal brilliant song. It was truly breathtaking. As I had just arrived, I chatted with Tony Gallucci and Eric Koval for a bit, but mostly paid attention to the band. They wrapped up the set with a mellow version of Deal that floated along nicely, then started building and building in the middle until it seemed like the whole room would explode, then dropped it back into the chorus, and let the ending play out. I had a vague memory of being impressed with them before and was completely blown away Saturday. I’ve got to get their music on my radio show!
During the switchover, I chatted with Rich Haskell, and before the next band stated a few of us Wbkmers took the stage and Tony chatted with the audience about the station and 7 years of music.
We hopped off stage and Real Old & Insane Donkey (really The Seth Yacovone Band) started rocking. Everyone knew that Seth was a great guitar player, but the guitar player on the left was pretty extraordinary too. I missed his name but he and Seth traded leads all night long and both were stunning. The rhythm section was super solid and the whole set was songs from Neil Young & Crazy Horse. They opened with a solid Rocking In the Free World then wowed the packed room with Powderfinger. The next was a fun mid-tempo obscure Neil song who’s name eludes me, but was lots of fun. They turned it up to eleven and played a long and joyous Cowgirl In The Sand. Mere words cannot capture how amazing it was. It seemed to go on forever and was blissful for every note. The next one was a mid-tempo rocker. I think it was Welfare Mothers (they definitely played it but I did not keep track of order of the songs), then unleashed Cortez The Killer. Unfortunately, the guitar player not named Seth lost his amp in the middle, though fortunately he got in a nice solo before it burned out. D.Davis was on it and exchanged his amp for the burned one, and had the guitar back in the game by the end of the song. Seth did a great job holding it together, though I’m sure the song would have been greater without the glitch. They followed with a killer rock version of Fucking Up that made me wish the amp burned out in that one, just for humor’s sake. They played a couple of more obscure Neil tunes then floored the room with Down By The River. They followed with a stunning Like A Hurricane and wrapped it up with a super heavy My My Hey Hey. It was a truly tremendous show.
Usually, at the Wbkm birthday parties, Tony’s kids play a set or two, During the set break I chatted with Michele Clifford Streeter and Annemarie Gallucci and asked about the opening band Bruise Box. That was a band with their kids, but a last minute breakdown had only Devin Gallucci play solo. It must have taken a lot of courage to not have your band and just get up and play anyway. I wish I had been there to see it.
Up next, the Book ‘Em Blues Band took the stage. Everyone knows that Bob Wagner is a great guitar player, But D. Davis, the guitar player on the right was pretty extraordinary too. Joined by the one man symphony, John Rogone, on bass, and the constantly attacking Russ Lawton on drums, the band were super tight and quite stunning. The songs were mostly blues classics that I did not know. It didn’t matter. They played so well, everything sounded great. The place was packed and people were dancing like crazy. The first set was not too long, and I was getting tired. It had been a long day. In the set break I headed to the WBKM studio a couple of doors down to find a less crowded bathroom. I ran into Eric and we wandered into the studio and chatted a bit. We then headed back and the band were onstage ripping up the second set. I think they were playing a Dead song when we walked in, but I’m not sure. I was really tired and barely still standing at this point, but had to stick around as they let loose a killer version of Frank Zappa‘s Bamboozled By Love. I’m sure they played a bunch more killer songs, but that was it for me. I took the happy gentle walk home with a heart full of music and a deep appreciation for all the staggering musical talent that we get in this town.

Devin Gallucci  at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by WBKM

Devin Gallucci at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by WBKM

The Kind Buds at WBKM photo by Wbkm

The Kind Buds at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by Wbkm

 

Seth Yacovone Band  at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by WBKM

Seth Yacovone Band at WBKM 7th Birthday Party photo by WBKM

 

Leave a comment