Radio Bean 17th Birthday Party November 4, 2017   Leave a comment

Amanda selfie at Radio Bean Birthday November 4 2017

Just before Swale began to play pic by Amanda Gustafson

 

I had a great time seeing music on Saturday at Radio Bean and Light Club Lamp Shop. It was the Bean’s 17th birthday party and they had music going from 8am until 2am. I had to work until 5:30 but it was a little slow and I was able to get out a little early. I arrived just as they were finishing up the group photo and said hi to a couple of dozen cool people. I wandered into the Bean and a duo were on stage. One gentleman sang and played guitar and the other played clarinet. They played a jazzy version of Bye Bye Blackbird which was cool. I think they were Trio Gusto.

I wasn’t sure where they were on the impossibly crazy schedule so I popped over to the Lamp Shop to see what was up. AM Radio were on and playing a bouncy country song about what it’s going to take to be my man. They followed with a simply elegant song called San Francisco that put me in a happy place.

I ducked back to the bean and caught a couple of strong acoustic songs by Tiffany Pfeiffer and The Discarnate Band, though it was just her solo. The music was enchanting and mournfully sweet. I missed the name of the first song but am pretty sure the second was called Dakota. It was lovely to hear the way she sang the title.

I was pretty sure a band I was aching to see was ready to go on so I bopped back to the Lamp Shop as Matt the Gnat and the Gators were getting set up. The began with a cool stark sunglasses in the club in the afternoon kind of sound. I took a couple of photos and donned the pair Matt gave out at a High Breaks show last year and settled in as they played a stunning version of A Cut In The Night Sky. It’s a tale of an astronaut who runs out of power and who’s capsule returns to Earth and how a boy on the planet looks up and sees it burning against the black of space so it looks like a cut in the night sky. It’s such a great song. They followed with a fun romp called A Monster’s Holiday and I’ll let you guess what that is about. For their final song they gave us a choice of the super cool and fun Paper Doll or one that I had not heard yet and we all voted for the latter. I Forgot My Baby At The Reunion Dance worked out well for Matthew Bryan Hagen and Caroline Marie but not so well for the character in the story. I just love the Gators.

I headed back to the Bean and The Shane Hardiman Trio were set to go. They took us on a long instrumental jazz jam that kept me smiling for every note. For their second song they brought up Kat Wright to sing Shane’s song Half Way which sounded like a jazz standard. It was gorgeous.

I hung out at the Bean for a bit and caught the set from Marcie Hernandez. Her voice is so strong and passionate that it invites you into her songs. She sang the first two in Spanish. One was about time and she brought up a violinist for the second one about a black dove. She closed the set with a cover about where did you sleep last night. It was a wonderful set.

At that point, I had a couple of things to take care of at home so I took the lovely walk to the old north end and got myself set up for round two. Details soon.

Let’s see, where was I? Oh right, I had wandered down to Radio Bean and Light Club Lamp Shop for a bit in the afternoon and saw some amazing music. I headed home for a bit then headed back. I arrived about 5:30 or so and Josh Panda & the Hot Damned were on stage rocking out. I only caught part of a song but it was really cool. I think it was called Dirty Little Secret.

I popped over to the Lamp Shop and a lovely trio called Nina’s Brew were on stage. They had a folky Southern California soul sort of sound. I really enjoyed a song that I think was called Music Maker. It was quite touching. I hung out for another lovely song then headed back to the Bean.

Brett Hughes was on stage rocking out with a killer band. Lowell Thompson Music joined him and they were playing a song about maybe I will. They kept the rocking Honky Tonk music going with a song about coming home to make sweet love to you. Lowell sang the next one that might have been Turn Me Home Again. Those guys are hugely talented and just a joy to experience.

I headed back to the Lamp Shop and a duo was on stage singing into an old fashioned looking microphone that somehow also looked shiny and new. I think the band is called Old Sky and is made of Andrew Stearns & Shay Gestal. They sang about how it was just about love and missing something. They were rather enchanting.

I headed back to the Bean and Lee Anderson took a moment to talk about his friend Al who is also a club owner and who encourages and makes music. The band were a jazz fusion quartet who opened with an instrumental called Joy. It was pretty sweet. I hung out for the next long song that has a bit more of a dark and sinister vibe and it was really cool.

I headed back to the Lamp Shop just as Francesca Blanchard said thank you, goodnight. Nooooo!!!! Rats. I should have skipped the second Al song, but what can you do?

I stayed at the Lamp shop as Ivamae got set up. She opened with a Feist song that went something like I wish that I didn’t miss you. She followed with a new song that she was really excited to play and was warmly received by the reverent audience. I think the next one was a new song called Note and was really cool too.

I headed back to the Bean for one of the shows I was most waiting for. Fauxbots were playing their debut show and featured Eric Segalstad, Aya Segalstad, Caroline Marie and Dalton Muzzy. They opened with a bouncy prog-pop song with soaring twin vocals from Caroline and Aya. They followed with a fun electronic pop song with dirty fuzzy keys that lit up the room. They closed with a song called Shine that had a nice pop beginning and end and a soaring rock middle. I’m very excited to see where they go from here.

I headed back to the Lamp Shop and caught a couple of magic songs by Brett Hughes and Kat Wright. They played a song about when they finally come home and one about living it down and were just magnificent.

I bopped back to the Bean and Skeleton Dancer were set to play. I had heard of them but did not know what to expect. They lit into some high energy punk that had a hint of ska and klezmer. They rocked hard and got me bouncing. They played three super cool rockers and the accordionist jumped into the audience for the last one and moshed pretty hard, while still playing. They were lots of fun and I need to go see them again soon.

I moved back to the Lamp Shop and Erin Cassels-Brown was on stage singing and playing an acoustic guitar. He wrapped that one up then was joined by Margot on trumpet. He sang a country song about peace of mind and laying his hammer down. He sounded nice and the trumpet added a soulful counterpoint. The next song was about a house at the edge of the road and was really cool too.

I headed back to the Bean just as Joe Adler & The Rangers Of Danger were about to play. He sang and played guitar and was joined by Johnnie Day Durand on saw, an acoustic guitar player, a drummer, Kirk Flanagan on bass, Marcie Marie on vocals, and a harmonica/flute player. I think that was everyone. They lit into a cool rocking version of You Wreck Me and the crowd was going wild. Joe gave a bit of space in the late middle of the song for the saw to rise to the front then the acoustic guitar player did a fiery solo. The next song was something about she’ll do anything to make you feel like an asshole and dropped it into there’s no way to know if you’re an asshole. It was fun and perfect and and the end of the second song they went back for a bit of the first and called it a night. It’s always a great time when the Rangers play.

I moved back to the Lamp Shop and Tom Banjo was on stage doing his cranky show. He mostly stood by and told the story of a horse going to the market. He cranked the background screen along as his assistant moved the horse in front of the screen. It was very enjoyable.

I moved back to the Bean and Blowtorch were about to start. They lit into some super intense punk rock and I was all smiles. With messages like we’re all in this together and we don’t need a riot here, they played five fast and furious rockers. They were brilliant as always.

I headed back to the Lamp Shop and Silver Bridget took the stage. Johnnie played saw and was joined by Matt Saraca and John Townsend. They play acousticish instrumental covers of classic songs. They opened with the beginning of (When I Was Seventeen) It Was A Very Good Year then dropped it into Paint It Black, which lit up the room. They followed with Karma Police then took us for a ride on the Wild Horses. They wrapped the enchanting set with Blue Bayou.

I ducked back into the Bean and caught the last half of the last Barbacoa song. It rocked hard and was super fun.

I hung out at the Bean as SWALE got set to play. Amanda Gustafson took a selfie with the crowd then the band lit into Rebel Girl. They stayed on the cover song format for an intense version of Faeries Wear Boots then played The Pants song Lawn Fire. I’m not sure what the next one was, something about that’s the song I hate, but it rocked hard and was really fun. They closed the set with a blistering Drug Laws. It was another truly stunning Swale set.

I thought about checking back in at the Lamp Shop but they were at capacity so I settled into the Bean. Blue Button came on with a rocking instrumental then played the slow beginning of My Bitter End. It ended at full fury then they kept the volume at 11 for Destroying Everything You See. We’re Closed rocked hard as did Fucking Burning Bridges. They closed with Hit and the packed room was elated.

Cave Bees hit the stage next and kept up the furious pace. They opened with Flight Of The Alligator and the crowd sang oh oh oh oh oh. They kept the heavy rock going for Juliet then eased up for Muskrat Love. They returned to full speed for I Don’t Need This Anymore and Mine All Mine. The heavy stomp of I Need A Raise ended their amazing set.

Up next, Nico Suave and the Bodacious Supreme took the stage. They stayed with the cover theme and Nicole’s voice did Robert Plant proud as they opened with Heartbreaker. They dropped it into Living Loving Maid and the crowd danced along. Since I’ve Been Loving You was breathtaking and they wrapped the set with The Ocean.

At that point, I was pretty drained. I stepped outside to get some air and just realized that I was done. It was about 11:30 and I had just seen about 6 hours of music. I headed back to the old north end with a smile on my face and a catalog of songs in my heart. What a great day and night.

 

 

Posted November 10, 2017 by tmusicfan in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

