Clever Girls, Sleeping In, and Apartment 3 at The Monkey House October 28, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_6737

Clever Girls pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last Saturday at The Monkey House. Christopher Larrow had come over for the weekend and we met up with Rich Haskell and headed to Winooski. We met up with Chris Rielly and Robin Chesebro Rielly and chatted for a bit. As the music began I headed to the front as Clever Girls shouted 1 2 3 4 and lit into Loose Tooth. They played a loud rocking set full of newer songs and classics. Their sound was full and rich and the volume was loud. Newer songs like Hannah just soared and classics like 45 had a slow burn that flowed into ripping guitar work. They closed with an intense rocker and I was in a happy place.

I hung out with everyone for a bit then the stage got loud and I returned. sleeping in had a lush indie rock sound. I did not know most of the songs but they were heavy and dreamy and I was in a happy place. They played some glorious music and wrapped the set with Tonight Tonight from Smashing Pumpkins.

 

IMG_6754

Sleeping In pic by Tim Lewis

I hung out with everyone for a bit then the stage got loud as Apartment 3 began their final show. Their indie punk sound was pretty cool and rocked hard. Again, I was not overly familiar with their songs, and the sound was loud and the vocals buried a bit so it was hard to be certain which songs they played. They were all fun and the epic 21 song set was fantastic, and included a couple of Pavement covers. They closed the night with the last song from their album Paying It Forward and that was that.

By this point everyone else had taken off so I took the lovely long walk home. I’m so glad I got to see such powerful music.

 

IMG_6761

Apartment 3 pic by Tim Lewis

Posted November 4, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

