Bardela at The Monkey House October 3, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_6512

Bardela pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music a week ago Tuesday at The Monkey House. I worked until 6:30 and had just enough time at home to almost fade. I had heard Cooie DeFrancesco sing and play guitar one night and really enjoyed her voice and presence. I had been meaning to Catch up with Arty LaVigne‘s band Radio Underground but the timing just never worked out. The fact that both were in Bardela made me rally and I took the long walk to Winooski.

I got in and settled and said Hi to Sal L. DeFrancesco and Kurt Ries and soon enough, it was time for Bardela to play. Arty and Cooie were joined by Mark Christensen on lead guitar, who also plays with Radio Underground, and Mike Scott on bass, though it’s normally Jeff Barrows. I think that when they play in this format they are Bad Bardela and when they have a drummer they are Big Bad Bardela but I could be wrong on that. Arty’s voice and guitar were front and center and Cooie’s voice blended sweetly. Her guitar joined in the rhythm or provided counter rhythms as needed. The bass filled out the sound and Mike’s guitar added some rock and roll sting. They had a breezy Southern California sound mixed with a bit of solid Vermont rock. They opened with one more story about the road then pulled out a huge sounding I Know You Rider. They sang about a California dreamer, but not the famous one. They sang about the end of summer then sang about how the wind came strolling through their door. They sang about whispers of love out in the country and closed the lovely set with Jazz Odyssey. Well, that’s what Mike said but to me it sounded like a song about living in L.A.

I had been pretty tired all day but was glad I made the push to get out the door. I said a couple of quick goodbyes then took the long walk home. I should have stayed for the next band but sometimes you can only do what you can do.

Posted October 14, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

