Silver Bridget at Nectar’s and Greaseface and The Rough Cuts at Sidebar September 23, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_6398

Silver Bridget pic by Tim Lewis

I had a great time seeing music last Saturday at Nectar’s. I met up with Laura Jean Hall, Lexi Higginbotham Hall and David Hall and we sat and ate and listened to Silver Bridget fill the room with their unique take on classic songs. John Townsend‘s acoustic guitar and kick drum set the structure. Matt Saraca‘s electric guitar provides much of the melody. Johnnie Day Durand musical saw acts as the voice and adds more rhythm and melody as needed. They began by taking us Over The Rainbow then we got to ride the Wild Horses. Floating down the Blue Bayou was just lovely. And I Love Her was sweet then we got to Follow The Sun. It faded into a Waterloo Sunset then we said Goodbye Yellow Brick Road. God Only Knows what the next song was and they stumped us all on the Beatles song after that. I’m So Lonesome I Could cry was a little sad but then a Starman came by to tell us it’s all worthwhile. We hung out above the atmosphere for Space Oddity and wondered about the astronaut implications of She’s Leaving Home. At this point something odd happened and a guy named Pete got up on stage and started playing bass with the band. He slipped perfectly into the mix and Nowhere Man had a bit of an extra kick. They played some songs for the young people such as Old Man, Harvest Moon, and Heart Of Gold. Creep was as fun as always then they played the Dolly version of I Will Always Love You. Hey Hey My My was easy to spot but the next two were not so I just happily enjoyed them. They melted our hearts with Love Me Tender and I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You. Surfer Girl was a joy and next one was too. They closed the set with strong versions of Paint It Black and Nights In White Satin.

 

IMG_6405

Silver Bridget pic by Tim Lewis

The Halls headed out and I followed quickly but then took a turn into SideBar. Greaseface were on and playing loud and fast punk rock. The trio have nicely moved from the underground scene and already seem like pros in a rock club. They had lots of attitude and flair and the two and a half songs I caught rocked me hard. They are definitely a band to watch.

 

IMG_6415

Greaseface pic by Tim Lewis

I was pretty exhausted but stayed for a couple of songs by the next band The Rough Cuts. They are from Massachusetts and played funky punk garage rock. They were pretty cool but when my drink was done, so was I.

The walk home was lovely and I reveled in the wide variety of music we get the opportunity to hear in our town.

 

IMG_6428

The Rough Cuts pic by Tim Lewis

 

Posted October 1, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

