Dino Bravo, The Ramparts, and Black Rabbit at the South End Art Hop and The High Breaks at ArtsRiot September 8, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_5777

Dino Bravo pic by Tim Lewis

I had a great time seeing music last Friday at Art Hop though it could have been a lot better if Mother Nature had cooperated a bit more, or if an indoor backup had been set up. I took the long lovely walk downtown but the weather looked iffy so I brought the umbrella along. I made it through the growing crowd, past all of the food trucks and packed galleries, and found the alley way out back where the Green Door stage was set. The rain had passed and the sky was blue when Dino Bravo VT took the stage. They played heavy loud rock music and opened with Sugar Coated Candy Stix. They brought out the harmony guitars for Strawberry Blonde and rocked Pop Music hard. A cover of 20th Century Boy got the crowd engaged and they closed with Past The Mark.

During the set break I got a chance to see Dino’s rehearsal space and was amazed at how small it was. I guess it does not take much room to launch a great band.

IMG_5798

The Rampats pic by Tim Lewis

I heard music and headed back out as The Ramparts began their set. They had a mellower sound with an almost jam feel but the songs were more tightly constructed. They opened with a song with a bluesy rock feel about a drop in the bucket. They followed with a bouncy song called Spaceship that was stuck in my head for weeks after seeing them play it last year. I can still hear it now. They played a song with a nice groove that was cool, mellow and slow and was about one more night. They played a new song that was strong and rocking maybe called Night Light. They kept the trajectory heading harder and had a Sabbath vibe while taking the long way home. I was happily impressed by the music and unhappily impressed by the light raindrops with a similar trajectory. They began another new one that was really good but the light rain became a bit more steady and the show was stopped. All the equipment was quickly moved into the nearest gallery.

I wandered through the gallery and let my eyes feast on the brilliant art. I thought I could get a chance to see more galleries and make it back when the rain passed so I unfurled the umbrella and wandered in and out of galleries as I headed toward the back of ArtsRiot. I knew there was music at Speaking Volumes and Big Heavy World and cruised around but both were outside stages that were sadly quiet. The steady rain became a deluge and I found shelter at Green State Gardener and checked out a couple of plants and all the growing supplies. Once the rain eased to a reasonable level I wandered around several galleries and was happy to realize that there is as much art in our town as there is music.

IMG_5804

The rain had almost stopped so I headed back to the Green Door. I chatted with many cool people and it began to look like Black Rabbit were going to play. They quickly got all the equipment set up with only occasional raindrops. They began playing The Original Original and the rain began again. They rocked their way through the song then said thank you goodnight. Everyone rushed to the stage and tore it down again as the rain became steady again. I was bummed that I would not get to see a full Rabbit set or Zeus Springsteen, Eastern Mountain Time, or The Parts.

 

IMG_5816

Black Rabbit pic by Tim Lewis

I headed over to ArtsRiot and waited in the short and slow moving line. I got in and waited to get a drink but it went quickly when the bartender saw me and recognized me from the night before. The High Breaks had played Boardwalk Boogie, Surf Train, and The Big One as I waited then got settled. I moved to the front as they lit into a song dedicated to the downpour called Dark And Stormy Sea. They rocked out Surf Showdown and Sink Or Swim. They dedicated the next one to the 4th anniversary of ArtsRiot and the 25th edition of the South End Art Hop and played a killer surf rock version of Sabbath Bloody Sabbath. Up next was Hot Dog then they played a song about putting on your wet suit before going to bed so you are ready for anything when you wake up. It was called Wet Suit Dream. Matt said that whatever you do we care about you and don’t, then Todd said Wipe Out. They closed the show with that classic rocker that everyone knew.

At that point I headed out and walked around to more galleries and crammed my psyche with art. I did not stay too much later and was elated to experience a small slice of the wonder that is created in our town every day.

IMG_5819

The High Breaks pic by Tim Lewis

Leave a Reply

