Banana Schlitz at the Amy E. Tarrant Gallery part of the Flynn Theater July 14, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_5353

 

I had a great time seeing music Friday evening at the Amy E. Tarrant Gallery. The Flynn Center for the Performing Arts is doing a series of shows there on Fridays and call it the Exhibitionist series. The shows are free and there is a cash bar, and they’ve got lots of cool bands lined up.

The whole week had been crazy. I worked my regular shift on Friday, Saturday, Sunday then switched to a 7:30 to 4 (or later) M-F shift to cover a coworkers vacation. I was able to go in a little late on Thursday so I could put my WBKM radio show together in the morning but circumstances changed and I had to do it on Wednesday. I went out and saw Music on Wednesday and Thursday and was able to finish all the work I needed to cover by 9:30 am on Friday. I slept for much of the afternoon and woke up in a haze. I put on the black and headed downtown for the 5pm show.

I walked in, got a beer, said hi to Charlie Messing and Eric Olsen and soon it was time for Banana Schlitz to play. I wasn’t sure the configuration of the band and it turned out to just be Jason Cooley singing and playing guitar over backing tracks. Each song had a video to accompany it. Some seemed to add meaning and some to add mystery. He began with a vocal exercize where he played a video and audio of the theme song for Game of Thrones and sang the words game of thrones to the tune. I was smiling ear to ear from the beginning. The next song was an instrumental while the video showed a series of classic rock albums with smile logos plastered over them. The next song was a little sticky sweet while live metal concert videos played on the screen. I think the next song was Jesus Chemist from the Sports & Milk album. All Bad News followed and had a video of some local Fox channel intercut with videos of James Bellizia playing guitar. I’m sure you can guess what video he used when he played the Breakfast Club theme. Nerve was a typical Cooley punk song. Again Over Again was a poignant song about getting older and losing friends. The next song was about a basketball hoop and had an appropriate video. Silver Dollars had a blue sky video with a jet stream running through it. …and Symphonies had a streetlight video and a catchy chorus. He closed with a video of him beating out the beat on his belly that faded into scenes of grocery stores and military marches. The incessant beat was great as he sang Fleetwood Mac’s Tusk.

I did not stay long then took the long dazed happy walk home.

 

 

IMG_5350

IMG_5352

Leave a Reply

