Haley Jane, Josh Glass, Mal Maiz, and the Andriana Chobot trio at Nectar’s July 12, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_5332

Andriana Chobot pic by Tim Lewis

I had a great time seeing music Wednesday night at Nectar’s. The show was set to start at 9 and I got myself moving around 7:30 and thought I might grab some food before the show. I looked at the calendar just before leaving and realized that the performer who was on at 7 was one that I should see too, and quickly made my way downtown.

I got in, got a seat at the bar and ordered food. I listened from afar as Haley Jane sang and played guitar. I had seen her band, Hayley Jane and the Primates and knew she was an amazing singer and front woman, but had not heard her play solo. She was as cool as I expected. She played a lovely slow song about spreading love until the day she is gone. She played a sweet version of Gillian Welch’s Look At Miss Ohio. She teased a new song then closed with a song about talking to the spirits at the Elmwood graveyard in case that’s where your head is going. I should have gotten there earlier and payed closer attention, but really liked what I heard.

 

IMG_5304

Haley Jane pic by Tim Lewis

I was at the front of the stage and ready to go at 9 and Joshua Glass Music began to play. He started singing and playing acoustic guitar with a song about being happy then played Zoe’s song for his daughter. He switched to keys for a summertime love song about having nothing to do. He resurrected the first song he ever wrote and played it through and older and wiser Josh and Satan’s Son was nicely done. He switched back to guitar for a new song called And Together which was really good. He played a couple of his classic songs. Man On The Side sounded great on keys and What’s In California? is a great guitar song. The first time I heard that I had it running through my head for weeks. He switched back to keys for the catchy Miss Go Away then played a song about using your Facebook status as a Megaphone. He capped the set with a song about staying here by myself. It had been ages since I had heard him play and I was elated for every note.

 

IMG_5306

Josh Glass pic by Tim Lewis

IMG_5309

Josh Glass pic by Tim Lewis

Up next Mal Maiz filled the stage. They started as a trio and played a cool instrumental with a Latin groove. They left the stage and a guy with an acoustic guitar played and sang and was joined by a woman who sang as they played a Fleet Foxes cover. After that, Maiz Vargas Sandoval and the full band got back up and played a half a dozen more Afro-Cumbia songs. The lyrics were all in Spanish so I missed them all but loved the feel and the flow of their music. He sang and played guitar and was joined by two very articulate guitar players, a stand up bass player and a percussionist. They had the small but mighty crowd dancing to their infectious rhythms. They played one new song that they had just recorded in Montreal so hopefully that will be out soon. They wrapped the set with Maiz playing a metal rocket shaped percussion instrument as the band jammed hard. It was a really fun show.

 

IMG_5312

Mal Maiz pic by Tim Lewis

IMG_5316

IMG_5321

Mal Maiz pic by Tim Lewis

After a quick set break, the Andriana Chobot trio got up to play. With Cody Sargent on drums and Patrick J. Markley on bass, she sang and played keys to her amazing songs. Her songs are strong and lovely and just fill the soul. She sang about a bit of your heart. She sang a song about staying. She pulled out fun covers of Ain’t No Sunshine and Come Together. She played her glorious song Cascade. She sang a song about how she used to get postcards from friends and how they slow down over the years and eventually stop. I guess there’s nowhere to go but here. She played a huge rocker with a jazzy tinge. She ended the night with a song about changing her mind then played a requested encore. She left us in a quiet mood with the gorgeous Not I.

I did not hang out very long and took the lovely walk home. I’m so lucky to have so much great music so close.

IMG_5330

Andriana Chobot pic by Tim Lewis

 

Leave a Reply

