Forest Gray at Radio Bean June 18, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_5064

 

I had a great time seeing music a week ago Sunday at Radio Bean. I had to work until 5:30 and the show was set to start at 6 so the timing was perfect. I did a quick turnaround at home and took the lovely walk downtown. I got in and settled just as Forest Gray got up to play. He is a solo artist and plays some songs on guitar and some on keys with lots of loops. His music is low-fi indie with elements of hip hop. On the surface he seems a bit odd and quirky but as you listen it’s easy to appreciate the structure of the songs and his endearing voice. It was a complete pleasure to stand there and let the songs, and the cool breeze coming through the doors, wash over me. He began on keys the switched to guitar for the second song. He stayed on guitar for the next one and asked what did you forget. The fourth song was on keys and was a nicely dramatic song about what the green alien lady said. After that he played a song that said I need someone to help me with myself then he opined Lord, I’ve got something to say but I have a feeling that you’re not listening. He followed with a song on guitar about having fun with his life then went into a song about praying for your funeral. He played another on keys then Andy Lugo came up and played a swinging electric guitar while Forest sang Heart Attack. Andy left then Forest closed the show with a song that asked how do I love you, let me count the ways.

It was the second time that I had seen him play and have enjoyed both shows. I’d go back anytime. I hung out for a bit then chatted with Forest Gray and Valkirie Sami for a bit, then took the lovely warm sunny walk home.

 

IMG_5072

IMG_5074

IMG_5076

Posted June 30, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

