Plastique Mammals, Ruckzuck, and Floral Amoral at Nectar’s May 22, Ruckzuck at Radio Bean May 22nd, and Ruckzuck at The Monkey House May 23, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_4873

Ruckzuck pic by Tim Lewis

I had a great time seeing music last Monday and Tuesday at three venues in town. It began a few months ago when singer Faith Kelly posted a question in the Facebook group Vermont music live and I replied and we chatted a bit. I listened to her band Ruckzuck, liked the sound, and put a note on the calendar that they were playing at The Monkey House on Tuesday.

As the show approached I realized they would play three shows in two days and decided to go check out the first show and see what it was like. On Monday, May 22nd, I worked from 11:30-8, dropped my stuff at home then took the lovely walk down to Nectar’s. There was a duo on stage as I got in and settled. Plastique Mammals are a keyboard/bass player and drummer and have a trippy sound. The songs start slow as they build loops then tend to get crazy by the end. Keyboard parts get added to the mix. Bass riffs get added to the mix. At one point he played a wicked bass solo into the mix and added another one over the top. I only caught five songs but their mini epics were fun to experience.

IMG_4860

 

Plastique Mammals pic by Tim Lewis

Up next Ruckzuck took the stage. With Mack Bedo on drums, Nick Bedo on guitar and Faith on keys and vocals, the band had a hypnotic flow to their music. They opened by saying “Welcome to the Spaceship” and dove into a fun spacey jam. They stayed there for the second song then rocked hard on Alan’s Garden. The fourth song was more poppy and Faith played the reverb soaked Ukulele to tremendous effect. The band closed the set with an over the top huge song that made me swoon.

IMG_4878

 

Ruckzuck pic by Tim Lewis

I hung out for a bit as Floral Amoral took the stage. With a singer/electric guitar player, electric guitar player, bassist and drummer they had a low-fi indie psychedelic sound that was really fun. The second song was more of a rocker and the third jammed hard. The clock said it was time to go to the next show so I sadly left. It was a quiet night in town and as I walked up Main st and took the turn up Church st I could hear their music flowing all over downtown.

IMG_4883

 

Floral Amoral pic by Tim Lewis

I arrived at Radio Bean just after the midnight start time but the band were still loading in. I got in and settled and soon enough it was time for Ruckzuck’s “second set”. They opened with a song about what goes on in your mind and it was easy to dive back into their spacey grooves. The second song had a bit of a Hawkwind flow and I was in a happy place. The next couple had more of a pop feel then they played another epic where Faith’s voice reached for the stars and Mack’s drumming became hypnotic. Nick laid in some cool rhythms as the keys flowed their way through the songs. They wrapped up around 1am then it was time for the short walk home.

IMG_4898

 

Ruckzuck pic by Tim Lewis

 

IMG_4902

Ruckzuck pic by Tim Lewis

 

I chatted with Nathan Curtis at work and said the two shows were fun and he said he was up for checking them out. I worked until 9:30 and we met up and headed to The Monkey House. Despite the rotary in Winooski being partly closed, we somehow got in and parked and walked in as Ruckzuck were starting their set. We had missed Floral’s opening set, but what can you do. I headed to the front and got right back into the groove. The songs have a hazy spacey flow and my body just seemed to remember where they would go. I couldn’t tell if the second song was really long or if it flowed into the third but I was in a happy place as the music washed over me. At some point Nate had called another coworker, Billy Greer, and he showed up and checked out some of their set. The band did another killer rocking version of Alan’s Garden with a long rocked out ending. Faith played the ukulele for the next song and a kazoo through a heavily reverbed mic for the next one. The effect was beautiful. They took a chance and played a brand new song and I’m so happy they did. It was wonderful. They wrapped the night with an over the top epic rocker that made me swoon.

We hung out and chatted with the band for a bit then Nathan dropped me at home. It’s amazing how easy it was to catch all three shows and Ruckzuck are so much fun, it made me want to keep coming back. Hopefully, they will journey this way again.

IMG_4915

 

Ruckzuck pic by Tim Lewis

IMG_4925

 

Ruckzuck pic by Tim Lewis

 

Leave a Reply

