Swale, Screaming Females, and The Cush at Waterworks as part of Waking Windows May 5, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_4807

Swale pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last Friday as part of Waking Windows. I love that festival but it’s always on a weekend at the busiest time of the year so I always miss much more than I see. I worked a 10 hour day and got out right at 9. I dropped the car at home then took the speedy walk to Winooski. I was about half way there when a car pulled over and said get in. Urian Hackney and Julian Hackney were so kind to give me a ride. Thanks guys!! Urian dropped me right at the box office so I got in and got my wrist band. I saw Justus Gaston as I walked out then I ran into Darlene and Marc Scarano. We wandered down to Waterworks and got in just as SWALE were doing a soundcheck of Joyless.

It wasn’t long then Swale began the show for real. They opened with an endearing version of Fella then played about cause and effect and a matter of time and skin in the game and letting it all come down tonight, and that was all in one song. I don’t know what the third song was but Jeremy Frederick sang most of it and Amanda Gustafson might have said it was a Journey song. Jeremy began the steady wicked drumming as the band began to chant we can all be that way. Every Last one Of Us took a long slow steady build into a giant epic and Eric Olsen just took it apart with a phenomenal guitar solo. The full room was charged but didn’t realize who long the ending takes to work itself out. I was enchanted for every note. A new one that I’m still getting to know was lovely. It was something about seen the best of me. They went into full rock mode, complete with Tyler Bolles charging bass, for Everyone Likes To and the epic Drug Laws. Whew! What a set.

 

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-156

Screaming Females pic by Luke Awtry Photography

I ran into lots of cool people between the sets like Joe Adler, Shawn Connolly, Caroline Marie, Peg Tassey, Jeff LaBossiere, Maryse Smith,Brent Hallenbeck, Max Tracy,Jacob Deva Racusin, Luke Adam, and many others that I’m forgetting. One of the cool things about festivals is seeing bands you know nothing about. I hung out at Waterworks as the room began to get packed with kids. A band called Screaming Females hit the stage. They played as a trio with a woman singer/guitar player, boy on bass, and boy on drums. They opened with something that had a trance metal feel. The next song had a slow heavy bluesy feel and the next one had a punk Zeppelin sound. Around that point the whole front of the stage became a mosh pit. It was more of a push you around pit than a real slamming mosh pit but was just enough to encourage me to move back a bit. They followed with a sting of cool rock songs. Some had a pop feel and they all had tons of energy. I really enjoyed the set and am so happy WW brought them to town.

 

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-147

Screaming Females pic by Luke Awtry Photography

 

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-138

Screaming Females pic by Luke Awtry Photography

 

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-168

The Cush pic by Luke Awtry Photography

The house cleared a bit but those in the know stuck around and it was soon time for the Cush. Gabrielle Douglas took the bass and vocals and Burette Douglas took the guitar and vocals and they were joined with the Texas band on guitar and drums. I’ve slacked about understanding their newest album so the first couple of psychedelic rock songs might have been from there or might have been new but were completely fantastic. For the third song they rocked I Shout Love At The Heart Of The Atom as hard as it should be. They followed with the glorious Orange Like Water and rocked us with The Vigilant Ones. Summer’s Gone surged along and I missed the name of the next song. The opening strains of The Drone lit up my soul and they played a version that soared through the air. I missed the name of the next song but loved it. They wrapped the set with a jammed out melt your face off psychedelic version of Highway Brain and called it a night.

It was close to 1 so I settled my tab and took the long happy walk home. I got to bed at 2, was up at 6:30 and at work at 7:50. It was another 10 hour day and I had a headache and could barely see straight by the end. I missed going back to WW on Saturday and after another 10 hour day on Sunday did not make it back that night. It was OK. I saw a band I love, and band I might begin to love and one of the best returning friend bands ever. I’m happy.

 

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-160

The Cush pic by Luke Awtry Photography

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-162

The Cush pic by Luke Awtry Photography

Copy of LUKE AWTRY PHOTOGRAPY - Waking Windows - Day 1 - 05052017-165

The Cush pic by Luke Awtry Photography

Leave a Reply

