Phil Yates & The Affiliates at Foam Brewers May 12, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_4825

Phil Yates & The Affiliates pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last Friday at Foam Brewers. I began my birthday with my mother and brother at Little Red Kitchen at 10 and had a great breakfast. I ducked down the hill and was at work at 11. I usually just walk to shows but I knew the timing would be tight so I took the car. After working until 9:30 I drove straight to the waterfront and walked into Foam. Phil Yates & The Affiliates were on stage rocking out the new song Fixin’ To Die. I went to get a beer but Johnny Meli jumped in and bought it for me before I could pay. I moved to the front and let the day wash off me as Phil said Happy Birthday to me from the stage then the band jammed hard on Might As Well Settle. They kept the momentum at full blast for Little French Earthquakes and I was in heaven. Phil announced the next song would be the last one and Burn It Down, Bernadette rocked wonderfully.

I said a couple of hellos and goodbyes as I finished my beer then drove home. I had to be at work at 7:50am the next day so staying out late was not an option. In the grand scheme it wasn’t the greatest of birthdays but it was made infinitely nicer by all of the lovely Facebook posts, seeing a few great people and hearing four fantastic songs.

 

Posted May 16, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

