Patrick Yeo & The Yo Yo’s and The Depth & The Whisper at Radio Bean April 16, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_3979

Patrick Yeo and the Yo Yo’s pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last night at Radio Bean, It was Easter Sunday and I worked a long 10:30-7 shift then stopped at home, ate dinner and settled for a bit. It would have been so easy to just stay, but I rallied the motivation and got out the door at 9:30 and took the short walk downtown.

I got in and settled and caught one song by Patrick Yeo & The Yoyo’s. They had a low-fi indie psychedelic sound and the song was about letting the cosmos emanate from you. It was pretty cool. I think the bass played had a set earlier billed as Hello Tortoise and I have not checked out the CD I was given, but will soon. They seemed to be a traveling collective of beautiful people and I was happy to be a tiny part of that night’s adventure.

The set break was pretty short, then the band I intended to check out hit the stage. The Depth and the Whisper are a guitar/singer, bass, drums trio from NYC and Kansas City and they played indie rock with sweet melodies and huge choruses. The three instruments create a great base for the songs and Albert’s voice just soars over the band on the choruses. They opened with the one song I knew, Waiting For The World To End and I was instantly in a happy place. From there, they played songs like Bones, Lack Of Sun and Fade Away. They all sounded great. Albert spoke of the need to have love and compassion for everyone throughout the show and spoke about loneliness and the need to see and be seen by people and to love and be loved by them before the song Let It All Go. Too Late To Be You was pretty cool and Highway was about spending a lot of time driving and thinking about who you are and who you want to be. Souvenir began with a bit of a U2 vibe and rocked nicely. They capped the night with the huge sounding New York that was about a girl nicknamed New York because she talked about it all the time.

It was late so I said a couple of quick goodbyes and took the long walk home. It would have been so easy to just stay at home but I’m so glad I put the effort in. I was heavily rewarded for it in my heart and soul.

 

IMG_3983

The Depth And The Whisper pic by Tim Lewis

Leave a Reply

