Silver Bridget at Nectar’s March 18, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_3790

Silver Bridget pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last night at Nectar’s. It was a long work day but I think I did a good job and got the numbers to fall in line. I had enough time to go home and eat some food and settle a bit then took the sunny walk downtown for the early show.

I arrived a couple of minutes late for the 7pm show but the band were still setting up so I hung out and chatted with Charlie Messing. When the band were ready we grabbed seats at the table at the front. Silver Bridget were soon on stage and ready to go, but something looked odd. John Townsend plays acoustic guitar and sometimes has a kick drum. He not only had the drum, but also set a snare on it’s side so he could use pedals on that too. To make things really fun, he had an electric baritone guitar which changed up the sound a little. With a bit more of a rocking sound the band opened with Radiohead’s Creep and followed with All Apologies. I love the band’s ethereal take on classic pop songs and this was a nice addition to the sound. Matt Saraca added a little extra muscle to his electric guitar and Johnnie Day Durand‘s musical saw soared over the top. John switched to acoustic for lovely takes on The End Of The World and You Got It then went electric for Nothing Compares 2 U. From there John switched back to acoustic and the band settled into the set. They took us on a journey that had us searching for a Heart Of Gold. The told the tale of The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down. They encouraged us to Follow The Sun as we drifted past the Blue Bayou. They pulled out the Dolly version of I Will always Love You then warned us that if we were not careful we were Going To Lose That Girl. They lit up the room with Paint It Black then played a sweet version of Love Me Tender. Old Man had the super cool Johnnie saw riffs then they encouraged us to Stand By Your Man. For some reason I was sure I knew what was next and was correct as they played Girl, You’ll Be A Woman soon. Matt led the take off section as the band took us on a Space Oddity. And I Love Her sounded sweet then they rocked out Hey Hey My My, or was it My My Hey Hey? Either way, it was great. They said Goodbye Yellow Brook Road then took us to the beach to hang 10 with the Surfer Girl. They told us that Only Love Can Break Your Heart. John left the stage as Matt and Johnnie took us Somewhere Over The Rainbow. John returned and picked up the electric and they closed the 24 song set with a stirring Nights In White Satin.

I said a couple of quick goodbyes then took the dark, icy, and happy walk home.

 

Here’s a video I shot of Only Love Can Break Your Heart – Tim

 

Posted March 19, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows, Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

