Andriana Chobot Trio at Light Club Lamp Shop and Joe Adler at Radio Bean March 17, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_3763

Andriana Chobot Trio pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last night at Light Club Lamp Shop. The show was set to go from 7-8:45. I worked until 7, raced home, did a real quick turn around and walked to the club, arriving just before 7:30. Andriana Chobot was on stage singing and playing keys as I settled in. She was joined by Julian Chobot on bass and Cody Sargent on drums so they had a nice full sound. Julian is super steady on bass with some cool running around the fretboard. Cody plays with subtlety and grace and is always where he needs to be to enhance the song. Andriana has a strong voice that is equally as powerful when she is whispering or belting it out. Her keyboard has an almost orchestral piano sound. They played a bunch of her songs, some that I knew, some that I did not and a couple that I am getting to know. I only caught a bit of the song they were playing as I got settled then they went into a bass and drum groove as she sang Come Together. She added some keys to the instrumental section, late in the song, then went back to just singing to close out the classic Beatles song. I joyfully let the next four songs wash over me and fill me, then they pulled out the magnificent Cascade. It’s from her first EP and is just wonderful. They ended the first set with a powerful cover of Ain’t No Sunshine and her singing was epic.

 

IMG_3773

Joe Adler with Chris and Tucker pic by Tim Lewis

I took advantage of the break to head over to Radio Bean to see a few songs by Joe Adler and Tucker Hansen. Joe sang and played the card deck guitar while tucker played the violin. They were joined by Chris on trumpet and he played a nice solo just after I arrived. They pulled out the Nathan Moore song about wondering how you would know if you are an asshole. The catchy chorus is fun and easy to song. They followed with Dylan’s One More Cup Of Coffee then I hit the road back to the lamp shop The band was not on yet so I made the reverse trip and listened to the song on bended knee before heading out for good.

When I arrived back at the Lamp Shop they were playing a gorgeous version of Alone In The Night, another epic song from her first EP. I wish I had arrived sooner but caught most of it. From there, Andriana and the band played a bunch of fantastic songs that made me just want to listen and hear them and to barely think of anything and just exist in the moment. They played eight wonderful songs and wrapped the night with one of the songs that I’m getting to know. It’s called Neon and is really cool.

I hung out for a little bit, chatted about how nice the sound is at the Lamp Shop, and said a quick goodbye. The walk home through the winter wonderland was lovely and quick.

 

 

IMG_3766

Andriana Chobot Trio pic by Tim Lewis

 

Posted March 18, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

