The Mountain Says No and Invisible Homes at Sidebar February 23, 2017   Leave a comment

IMG_3535

The Mountain Says No pic by Tim Lewis

 

 

I had a great time seeing music a couple of weeks ago at SideBar. It was a Thursday night but I had my radio show prerecorded and with two of my favorite bands playing, I could not miss it, even though I’d seen both less than a week before.

It was an easy walk downtown and I got in and settled just before the 10pm start time. The bar, and all of downtown, were oddly quiet for a Thursday night, but by 10:15 The Mountain Says No hit the stage and started playing anyway. They began rocking hard with Macu Picchu and we were off. They followed with You Say You’re Alive then rocked out Nothing In This. They went back to the first album for a funky Ricky The Rider then played the poppy Game Of Thrones. Eggshell brought the energy up and Be Like Ryan took it in an eerie direction. Ben Maddox totally endorsed the lyrics to Blanket’s Fine then the band started mysterious and ended rocking with Gazerbeam. They went back to the first album for a couple of blistering rockers and hearing Restaurant and Long Term Sermon made my heart full. A small crowd had begun to fill the room a bit as they eased back for the smoldering 3,000 Incubators. They kicked it back into blistering rock mode and ended the night with I Know Right. What a great show.

Time had already slipped a little and I had to work in the morning. I was feeling a bit tired but was determined to see as much of Invisible Homes as I could. They opened with The Clown and it seemed like they were just on the edge of holding it together when Margaux Higgins joined them on stage for a staggering slide whistle solo. Apparently, she is THE most important slide whistle virtuoso in the Western Hempishere! She studied with the Crimean slide whistle master, üte and meditated for three years to learn the craft. The two or three notes she dropped into the song changed it from a potential disaster to one of the great musical performances in Burlington history. I wish you were there to see it. Lamentably, she left the stage after that song but the band were fully charged up and played a staggering rest of the show. They didn’t play any of the big hit songs, though Song For My Double was easy to spot. I only made it for eight songs before the exhaustion took me away but they played some new songs and some eerie and wonderful instrumentals and filled my heart.

It was just before one when the body said go and I walked out the door. I’m assuming they played Above The Frequency and Pale Rage and This Machine, all of which belong on a list of the best music created in this town. I was sad to miss the end but loved what I caught and needed a few hours of sleep before working the next day.

 

 

IMG_3555

Invisible Homes with Margaux Higgins pic by Tim Lewis

Posted March 10, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

