Heloise, Swale, Villanelles at Maglianero and Phantom Airwave at Sidebar February 18, 2017   Leave a comment

img_3505

Swale pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music Friday night at Maglianero. I thought my timing was pretty good but the walk to lower Maple street took a bit longer than expected and Heloise was on stage singing Take My Breath Away when I walked in. She sang over prerecorded music and was joined by an enthusiastic dancer and James Bellizia on bass. She has a lovely voice and lots of stage presence and while I did not know most of the music she had the mostly full room dancing. The second song I caught was something about blood money. For the last song of the set James switched to electric guitar for a song about how they keep pumping it out for us. James had a nice solo at the end and got some nice feedback going as he pushed the guitar into the amp. It was a pretty fun show.

img_3497

Heloise and James and their dancer pic by Tim Lewis

 

SWALE came on next and played a bunch of new songs. They opened with the one about one good fella to love and it has been stuck in my head ever since. A new song called Elevator sounded great and I’m not sure I had heard it before. The one about cause and effect and it being a matter of time followed. They have been playing that one for a while and it always makes me happy to hear it. They turned up the rock intensity with Tyler Bolles singing Lawn Fire which is a classic Burlington rock song originally performed by The Pants. Everyone Likes To kept the place rocking at full steam. They played a fun version of Camper Van Beethoven’s Take The Skinheads Bowling and dedicated it to the victims of the Bowling Green Massacre. They ended the set with a couple of rocking songs I did not know. Jeremy Frederick and Amanda Gustafson co-sang one of them, and it sounded great as Eric Olsen played some beautifully intense guitar. The closing song was heavy and almost sounded like a Sabbath song and I was in a great place.

 

img_3510

Swale pic by Tim Lewis

 

Villanelles came on next and played a set similar to the one they had played the previous night at ArtsRiot. They opened with Grey Goo then make a comment about the boys being back in town that caught some attention from the audience. They played a great version of Parking Lot then surprises people by actually playing the Thin Lizzy song. Smiles abounded. Shy Spiders was next and I just loved the sweep of the song. They switched up the set a little by tossing in a rocking version of Heartbreak Baby then played a few more and ended with Jenny. It was such a treat to see them two nights in a row.

 

img_3517

Villanelles pic by Tim Lewis

 

I headed out shortly after the set but had a thought that I could get a taste of a band who has been playing around lately that I was curious about. I headed over to SideBar to check out Shawn Connolly‘s other band Phantom Airwave. I really had no idea what to expect, except great guitar playing, so I made my way to the front and the band were on and rocking. With a singer/guitar player (who switched to keys for the next song), Shawn on guitar, bass, drums and sax they had a big rock/jazz/blues/soul/reggae sound. They had a bit of a jam feel too but there was a lot of muscle in Shawn’s guitar so it kept it fun. I only caught three songs, one of which the sax player sang, then they took a break. I opted to call it a night but may have to check them out for real sometime soon.

 

img_3520

Phantom Airwave pic by Tim Lewis

Posted February 23, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

