Jeremy Gilchrist and Joe Adler at Radio Bean January 28, 2017   Leave a comment

img_3274

Jeremy Gilchrist pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last Saturday at Radio Bean. I was tired from the night before and working all day Saturday but thought I could handle going out and hearing some strong acoustic music. I met up with my cousins Jessica Pearson and Caleb Pearson and we had a fantastic dinner at !Duino! (Duende).

Just before 8 we wandered over to the bean and Jeremy Gilchrist – Singer-Songwriter sat and sang and played acoustic guitar. He opened with a song from his upcoming EP. Threaded is a strong song with a subtle and intense lyric. He went back to his Causality album for a cool version of Great Filter. Another new one called The Endless War seemed appropriate for our times. A new one that I had not heard yet, or maybe once a while ago, called Faded Movie Reel was very cool. He pulled out a cover and stunned the room with Pink Floyd’s The Gunner’s Dream. I missed the name of the next song but the one that followed was called Leonard and was a celebration of the life of Mr Cohen. He was going to end the set with his epic version of Round Here but Joe was running a tiny bit late so he tossed in the Great Escape. I love that song and all of his songs and am so glad I went.

It did not take Joe Adler long to get set up with his acoustic guitar and spacey sounding telephone. He played an epic 17 song set and almost all the songs were covers. He opened with a Radiohead song I did not know then rocked out Burning Down The House. A song that may be called I Hate Love followed then he pulled out The Kinks song I’m Not Like Everybody Else. Leonard Cohen’s In My Secret Life followed. He played a couple that I did not know, but enjoyed, then played the classic One World (Not Three) from the Police. The set continued with a song about a man of many hats then he played a couple of his solo songs. Mirror Mirror rocks hard even when played acoustically and Coffee And Eggs is pretty cool. The Future by Leonard Cohen was just great as was the acoustic version of Joe’s classic Brothers And Sisters. He stayed with Leonard for Famous Blue Raincoat. Tom Waits Mr Siegal was pretty great then he wrapped the night with a song about how friends can easily slip away.

I ducked out pretty quickly then took the lovely walk home.

I took the Jeremy pic and Luke Awtry Photography took the Joe pics

 

16265165_1636271326668178_613012943054485115_n

Joe Adler pic by Luke Awtry photography

16402600_1636271323334845_3443661282712417165_o

Joe Adler pic by Luke Awtry photography

Posted February 5, 2017 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

