Silver Bridget at The Daily Planet December 14, 2016   Leave a comment

img_2867

I had a great time seeing music a couple of weeks ago at The Daily Planet. I had seen the band two weeks earlier and they said they would play again on Wednesday December 14th. I searched through the local listings and saw no mention of the show, but I was sure that I was right and walked downtown anyway. It was a cold and lightly snowy night, but I was well bundled up and made it there quickly and comfortably. As I approached the restaurant I could see inside that the band was indeed setting up. I grabbed a seat at the counter, got some dinner and a drink and soon enough Silver Bridget started to play. I think they opened with Charade and definitely filled the first set with classics like Nowhere Man, Blue Bayou, Girl You’ll Be A Woman Soon, and I Can’t Help Falling In Love With You. They closed the 45 minute 10 song set with a cherry Follow The Sun.

The set break was short and then it was time for the longer set 2. They opened with a gorgeous Silent Night and Johnnie Day Durand‘s saw sang it beautifully. They followed with a driving Paint It Black. John Townsend‘s acoustic strumming was strong and Matt Saraca‘s electric guitar added a nice edge. Love Me Tender was sweet and The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down rocked nicely. Somewhere Over The Rainbow was gorgeous then they rocked out Hey Hey My My. They stayed with Neil for Old Man then informed us that She’s Leaving Home. You Got it followed with gusto. Matt’s guitar lit up the rocket launch part of Space Oddity then they kept rocking with All Apologies. Goodbye Yellow Brook Road followed and then they played a lovely version of Surfer Girl. The got a little Crazy after that and they closed the 17 song set with Only Love Can Break Your Heart. It was a great night of music and I love it when I get to hear Silver Bridget play.

 

Posted December 30, 2016 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows, Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

