Joe Moore Band, Seth Yacovone plays Dylan as The Jokerman at the WBKM birthday party at Nectar’s November 11, 2016   Leave a comment

Joe Moore Band at Nectar's November 11 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Joe Moore Band at Nectar’s November 11 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music last Friday at Nectar’s After seeing Tommy the night before and working a long day, I was dragging. I really did not want to go out but it was the WBKM birthday party so I felt I should represent. I got moving around 8:30 and arrived at the club just about 9.

Seth had just wrapped up his solo set so I hung out and chatted with a few cool people. Around 9:30 Joe Moore and his band took the stage. They played some funky blues for an hour or so. Joe played a variety of pipes and gizmos on the first song and played three different size saxophones over the course of the set. The bass and drum players were solid and the guitar player was exceptional. Joe sang a few of the songs and had a great voice and stage presence. They played songs like Hey Hey The Blues Is All Right, something about who’s making love to your old lady and they filled the dance floor with the closing Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin). It was a rocking fun time.

Up next Seth Yacovone was joined by Todd Gevry on drums, Ian Friedman on keys and Ralph Eames on bass. Collectively known as The Jokerman they played a set of Bob Dylan songs. I did not know the first song but it was pretty cool and sounded familiar. Positively 4th Street followed and was lots of fun. A Hard Rain’s a-Gonna-Fall had a great blues rock sound. Not Dark Yet had a chilling connotation to it and was well played. The next song may have been Idiot Wind, but my knowledge of Bob’s music is a bit lacking and his catalog is pretty deep. Isis rocked pretty hard and was fun. I think the next one might have been Things Have Changed. It was late, around midnight, and I had to work early in the morning. I stuck around for Just Like A Woman then just had to leave. I heard they were going to do a killer All Along The Watchtower but even that promise was not enough to keep my tired body in the room.

The walk home was lovely and work the next day was reasonably successful. I wish I had the energy to stay until the end but am glad I caught what I did.

 

 

Seth Yacovone at Nectar's November 11 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Seth Yacovone at Nectar’s November 11 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Leave a Reply

