Bethany Conner at Light Club Lamp Shop September 27 2016   Leave a comment

Bethany Conner at Light Club Lamp Shop September 27 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Bethany Conner at Light Club Lamp Shop September 27 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

 

 

I had a great time seeing music recently at Light Club Lamp Shop. I had a chance to see and hear Bethany Conner Music a few weeks back when she appeared on Rocket Shop. I was impressed and have been playing songs from her album ever since. She mostly plays around Vermont so when I saw she was returning to Burlington I really wanted to listen to her play a few songs to see if I was as impressed as the first time.

The show was set to start at 7. I got out of work at 6:30, raced home and did a super quick turn around, and headed downtown. The church bells rang the seventh time as I approached the club. I got in and settled then realized the show would be more of a singer songwriter showcase rather than just Bethany and John Smyth, who was also on the bill. I forgot the name of the first gentleman who took the stage, since I misplaced the notes I took, and he nicely sang and played some old timey songs on acoustic guitar. I sat and listened and appreciated the window on another time. He only played four songs, the last of which was a Randy Newman song, or one Randy covered.

After his set Bethany Conner took the stage. She had poise and confidence as she played acoustic guitar and let her voice loose on the crowd. She had a 40 minute set and played most of the songs from her EP I’ll Tell You. Every song was good and her stories in between were casually told and fun to listen to. She tossed a cover in the middle of the set, that faded into something else, and unfortunately, at this point I can’t remember which songs they were. Either way, they were nicely done. I like a lot of Bethany’s songs but that night The Worst Part stood out just a little bit more than the rest. She closed the night with a cover of 4 Non Blondes song What’s Going On. Her voice just soared on the chorus and filled the room as her guitar drove the song perfectly. It was a great end to a wonderful set.

I hung out for a bit, but was tired and had not eaten yet. The first singer came back on and was joined by two others. As they took more and more time to get set up, my energy went the other direction. I hung out for a while, but without music to keep me anchored, I drifted out the door and took the short walk home. On the way I stopped in at Drifter’s and ate a quick tasty dinner, then finished the walk.

 

 

 

Bethany Conner at Light Club Lamp Shop September 27 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Bethany Conner at Light Club Lamp Shop September 27 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Posted October 8, 2016 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

