Radio Show 178 Thursday October 6, 2016 9-11pm Eastern US Time 107.1 FM and WBKM.ORG   Leave a comment

WBKM

WBKM

 

http://wbkm.org/

 

I got a little extra organized and have tonight’s local music radio show on 107.1FM WBKM all lined up. It will run from 9-11pm US Eastern Time and will go as follows:

Song before: Alone – Children in Paradise

Intro

From our small city to the great big world, these are the Sounds of Burlington. I want to thank Higher Ground for sponsoring our station. They have lots of shows happening this week and have Built to Spill playing tonight. Let’s begin tonight with some huge sweeping songs in honor of all of those people in our community who have huge sweeping hearts.

1.) Teenage Mother Earth – The Red Telephone
2.) Breathing In – The Hero Cycle
3.) If You Get Lost – SWALE
4.) Cascade – Andriana Chobot

Cascade has such a huge luscious sound. Same for Lost. Swale will be playing Saturday at The Monkey House with The Nancy Druids. Sean from the Druids also plays in Telephone so it’s going to be a great night of music. I will be out of town, but more on that later. Great song from Hero. On a more somber note, this week the Burlington community lost one of it’s funniest and most treasured people. I loved all the wry posts that Mike McGonegal shared with us and I got to meet and hang out with him a few weeks back at a Silver Bridget show. I’m going to play three of their instrumental songs to pay a quiet tribute to Mike, and to all of the people who have left this life. I invite you to join me.

5.) Old Man – Silver Bridget
6.) She’s Leaving Home – Silver Bridget
7.) Harvest Moon – Silver Bridget

It was fun seeing them that night and having Mike help me identify which song they were playing. He will be greatly missed by our community. Since we are in a contemplative mood, let’s play the next song from the album I’m playing all the way through, song after song, week after week. Here is the next one from Song For My Double.

8.) Contemplating The Ivory – Invisible Homes
9.) Little Monster – Strange Machines
10.) What If – Madaila
11.) What If – REDadmiral

I had to play those two back to back. They are obviously quite different songs. Machines will be at Nectar’s tomorrow. Homes play so many great styles of music. That’s a song from Madaila’s new album Traces. Admiral are at The Monkey House Tonight. So is this next band.

12.) Ninjas Vs Zombies – Phil Yates
13.) Restaurant – The Mountain Says No
14.) Emerald – Ace Frehley
15.) Hey Ernie – Cold Sweat

When I was younger some friends and I would drive all over Vermont and New York to go see Sweat. We’d see them in Glens Falls and Clifton Park and places like that. I have tickets with my brother Ken to see Ace on Saturday in Clifton Park, NY so that should be fun. I believe that Lizzy cover is in the setlist. Great rocker from Mountain and fun song from Phil. I saw this next band last week at Foam Brewers

16.) Medieval Knieval – Barbacoa
17.) Say It – Anachronist
18.) Falter – Chin Ho
19.) Green Apple Girl – David Jarvis

It sounds like Dave is getting the band back together soon. Great classic from Chin. Great song from Anachronist. Barbacoa always rock. OK, let’s keep rocking.

20.) Sally – Daniel Waterhouse (Dan Murphy)
21.) Windigo – Crazyhearse
22.) The Day I Met You – Dirtminers
23.) A Different Machine – Elephants of Scotland

Great rocker from Elephants, who are really from VT. Great rockers from Dirt and Crazy and cool song from Dan. OK, there’s just a little bit of time left. Let’s keep rocking.

24.) 88 – Wave of the Future
25.) 22R – Cave Bees
26.) Black, Blue and White – The New Siberians
27.) I Am Sunday – The Red Telephone

I thought I’d end where I began. I hope you enjoyed checking out the music of our town, let’s do it again next week, shall we?

Outro

Songs after: Internal Exile Medley (Big Bus) – Fish
Against The Rain – TILT
Butts Wigglin’ – The Tragically Hip

Leave a Reply

