Francesca Blanchard at Summervale August 18, 2016   Leave a comment

Francesca Blanchard at Summervale August 18, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Francesca Blanchard at Summervale August 18, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music yesterday afternoon at Summervale. I ran a little late and arrived at 6:05 and Francesca Blanchard was on stage singing and playing electric guitar. She was joined Matthew Kloss on bass and Charles Smyrk on drums. She sang many of the songs in French and a couple in English and they all sounded great. I did not know most of the songs so I just sat and listened as Mark Haworth Harlan snapped lots of photos. She played a couple of covers such as You Belong to Me and a Carla Bruni song with lyrics that flowed so fast I was amazed at how she kept up. Throughout the show the music had a lovely sound but it was her voice that shaped all of the songs. Her guitar playing has a cool sound like she’s plucking a banjo but her voice brings the songs their melodies. She played a few songs on her own then was rejoined by the band. I had to leave early to do my radio show later, but got to hear a large number of songs in the 70 minutes I was there. It was tough to leave and I will have to make it a point to see her play whenever I can.

 

 

Francesca Blanchard at Summervale August 18, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis 2

Francesca Blanchard at Summervale August 18, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis 2

Posted August 19, 2016 by tmusicfan in Rock Shows

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

