Cricket Blue in City Hall Park in Burlington VT June 24, 2016   Leave a comment

Cricket Blue in City Hall Park June 24, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

Cricket Blue in City Hall Park June 24, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis

 

I had a great time seeing music on Friday in City Hall Park in Burlington. I have enjoyed the music of Cricket Blue for a while but had not seen them. About quarter of noon I took the sunny walk downtown, said a quick hello to Jack Tremblay who I randomly ran into on Church St, then headed into the park. The band were on stage and playing so I found a place to sit on the edge of the sun and shade and let their gorgeous music wash over me. I’m pretty sure it was Oh My Rose that was enchanting the air when I arrived. Cricket are a duo made up of Laura Heaberlin and Taylor Smith and both play acoustic guitar and sing. It’s Laura’s voice that tends to come out the most, but it’s the way their voices weave themselves together while the guitars weave themselves together that makes their music sound like magic. The songs have a strength to them and the lyrics will go as deep as you want to follow. The first full song I caught was Forsythia and it’s cool rhythm changes made me smile. At some point someone sat next to me and it turned out to be my cousins Jessica and Caleb Pearson. The band swirled through their set with songs about milkmen, Elliot and and Ode to Billy Joe. At some point my mom happened to wander by, grabbed a chair and checked out the show. The band sounded luscious and powerful as they worked through IO with Trouble Come No More, Angela Carter, and Kentucky. I wondered how they would do the rocking part in the latter with just acoustics but they brought up the speed and volume and pulled it off nicely. Elanor followed then they closed the show with a long new song, almost a song cycle, called Corn King. It was great and bodes nicely for their future. It was the kind of show that put them on the go see them whenever you can list.

After the show the four of us went out to Vt Pub for a lovely lunch. I love it when it is so easy to see such great music, and hey, you never know who you will run into.

 

Cricket Blue in City Hall Park June 24, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis  2

Cricket Blue in City Hall Park June 24, 2016 pic by Tim Lewis 2

Leave a Reply

