Radio Show 110 Thursday May 14, 2015 9-11pm Eastern US Time WBKM.ORG   Leave a comment

WBKM CREW

WBKM CREW

 

http://wbkm.org/

 

I just got back from my local music radio show on internet only Wbkm Dot Org. I used the excuse of my birthday being last Tuesday to play a few of the songs I’m most passionate about,

Song before: Sparks – The Color Exchange

promo

intro

From our small city to the great big world, these are the Sounds of Burlington. It cooled off a little this week and we had a nice thunder and lightning storm, but today was a beautiful sunny day. There are lots of people about and a joyous spirit in the air. I drove to New Hampshire and back yesterday and the mountains of Vermont are lush with tons of shades of green. Enjoy this moment and enjoy your loved ones whenever you can. It was my birthday this week and I’m going to pull out a few of the bands and songs I’m most passionate about. If your band is not on this list it’s more that I only have two hours, not that I meant to miss you. This song has been rocking my world lately. This is Little French Earthquakes by Phil Yates and the Affiliates on WBKM, and this is Burlington’s Kind of Music.

1.) Little French Earthquakes – Phil Yates & The Affiliates
2.) Teenage Mother Earth – The Red Telephone
3.) Tastes Like Nothing – Zola Turn
4.) Tibbar Tibbar – Black Rabbit

I knew I had to play a Rabbit song and that was the first one that really caught me, and still does. Love that classic from ZT. It must have been a beautiful time, it must have been a terrible time, it must have been a beautiful terrible time indeed. That one has been speaking to me lately. Let’s continue through Swale’s album The Next Instead.

5.) Golden Crutch – Swale
6.) It Shows – Sarah Blacker
7.) Presence – Satori Bob
8.) Day Of The Dead – Hana Zara

I love the way Hana’s lyrics walk you through a picture. Great song from John Baumann and Robert Gagnon. That’s another song from Sarah’s new album In Waves. It’s not quite out but can be pre-ordered. This next artist is in California, but put a ton of music into this town over several years.

9.) Never Cry Halo – Alice Austin
10.) Chuck Berry – Dino Bravo VT
11.) Las Vegas – Ninja Custodian
12.) Trading Bullets – Fire The Cannons

They put on some very intense rock shows in the 2000’s. Classic from Ninja. Dino just played a show in Stowe where they were billed as Dino Barvo, possibly and puppet show. This next band have a new album and a new video for this song.

13.) Playtime – Death World Wide
14.) Mine All Mine – Cave Bees
15.) Gas and Oil – Gas and Oil
16.) This Machine – Invisible Homes

I love the nod to Woody Guthrie and the idea of killing fascist ideas with words and music and ideas and inspiration instead of with bullets. Killer song from Beano Parker’s non Wards band. There’s everything to love about the Cave Bees. Speaking of ideas that could kill fascists and Woody.

17.) This Land Is Your Land – U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders and 30 Vermont musicians
18.) Brothers And Sisters – Joe Adler
19.) U Can Love If U Want To – Peg Tassey MUSIC
20.) I Put A Spell On You – Marco Benevento and Kat Wright

That was recorded live at Radio Bean. It doesn’t get more Burlington than that. Killer song from Peg. Brothers and Sisters is dedicated to my brother Ken and all of the musicians that I feel are my brothers and sisters. You know who you are. Thanks for the beautiful song Joe! Bernie is the kind of guy who has spent his whole life trying to kill fascists with wonderful ideas. OK, on Tuesday I turned 50. That means I was born in….

21.) 1965 – The New Siberians
22.) Statistik – The Mountain Says No
23.) TFAY – Elephants of Scotland
24.) Plastic Revolution – Doll Fight

Love that song from DF. Revolution Doll style now! I just love that Elephants song so much! I finally got the Mountain songs into a playable format. I love the build in that song. Yea, Siberians. This is a great song from a friend of the show.

25.) Letter From The 21st – Jeremy Gilchrist
25.) I Forgot – Maryse Smith
26.) Ships – Anais Mitchell

I just love that song. I’ve loved the Maryse Smith song since I first heard it. I hope you enjoyed checking out the music of our town. Let’s do it again next week, shall we?

outro

promo

Song after: Zoe 25 – Fish

 

Leave a Reply

