Phil Yates and the Affiliates, Persian Claws, and Holly Golightly at the Monkey House April 18, 2014   Leave a comment

I had a great time seeing music last Friday at The Monkey House. I got out of work at 7 and the show was set to start at 8:30. I walked in about 8:25 and Phil Yates and the Affiliates were on stage getting set. They started almost exactly on time and played a great mix of the Oh So Sour album and new songs. Their quirky pop was a bit challenging at times but some parts just let loose and rocked. I had ecstatically kept up with the twists and turns and intricate rhythms. The bar was packed and everyone seemed to be having a great time. Late in the set they played an extra rocking version of Might As Well Settle that really lit up the room.


After they finished up there was a long changeover wait until Persian Claws hit the stage. Their super cool sixties spy music mixed with 2014 indie rock went over very well. La Dee danced and sang her heart out and drew the audience in. The bass, drums and keys kept a gorgeous and powerful flow of music going. Bill Mullins jr’s guitar playing was icy cold and stinging at the same time. Their songs are short and sweet and they kept us rocking hard for a half hour or so. They wrapped the set with Flypaper then I Hate Being In Love, and that was that.


I did not know much about headliner Holly Golightly but hung out to listen to their sound. She played acoustic and sang and a guy played guitar and used his feet on a drum. Their songs were stark and acoustic. The lyrics were dark and kind of subversive, so that was fun. Unfortunately, after two killer rock bands, to bring the music intensity so far down, left me a bit anxious. I wanted to keep rocking, and it was not to be. I finished my drink and slipped out the door, for the long walk home. I’m glad I checked out the headliner, but in the end, the two wonderful openers made the night for me.

 

Leave a Reply

