Quote of the Day   Leave a comment

Gov Jan Brewer (R-AZ) “Good evening, and thank you for joining me here today.  I am here to announce my decision on Senate Bill 1062.
As with every proposal that reaches my desk, I gave Senate Bill 1062 careful evaluation and deliberate consideration.

I call them like I see them, despite the cheers or boos from the crowd.  I took the time necessary to make the right decision.
I met or spoke with my attorneys, lawmakers and citizens supporting and opposing this legislation.  I listened, and asked questions.
As Governor, I have protected religious freedoms when there is a specific and present concern that exists in our state.

And I have the record to prove it.
My agenda is to sign into law legislation that advances Arizona.
When I addressed the Legislature earlier this year, I made my priorities for this session abundantly clear…

Among them are passing a responsible budget that continues Arizona’s economic comeback.
From CEOs to entrepreneurs to business surveys  Arizona ranks as one the best states to grow or start a business.  Additionally, our IMMEDIATE challenge is fixing a broken Child Protection system.  Instead, this is the first policy bill to cross my desk.

Senate Bill 1062 does not address a specific and present concern related to religious liberty in Arizona. I have not heard of one example in Arizona where a business owner’s religious liberty has been violated.

The bill is broadly worded and could result in unintended and negative consequences.
After weighing all of the arguments,  I vetoed Senate Bill 1062 moments ago.”

http://i2.cdn.turner.com/cnn/2014/images/02/26/gs_022614_sb1062remarks.pdf

Leave a Reply

