Radio Show 11 Thursday May 9, 2013 9-10pm Eastern US Time WBKM.ORG   Leave a comment

http://wbkm.org/

I just got back from local music radio show number 11. I still need to tighten the dialog, but I will work on it.

Song before: Beware of Darkness – George Harrison

Peg Tassey WBKM promo

Intro

From our small city to the great big world, these are the sounds of Burlington. Last week I finished playing the Vedora album, this week I’m starting on New Appreciation for Sunshine by The Cush. Here is the opening song on WBKM, Burlington’s kind of music.

1.) Searching for the sun – The Cush
2.) Walking in Circles – Raq
3.) Here comes the sun – Aaron Flinn

Talked about the George Harrison cover night at Radio Bean last Friday. Talked about Aaron playing a sweet solo for While My Guitar Gently Weeps, and a nice version of Beware of darkness, but blanked on mentioning any of the other wonderful performers. Said that Aaron did Here Comes The Sun Richie Havens style, and said what a wonderful performer Richie was. Said I don’t know a lot about Raq, but Mike Luoma kept saying they were good. I listened to that song, liked it, and loved the lyric about don’t fool me and get me out into the sunshine, it’s blinding me. The lyric made me want to play it out of the Cush song. Speaking of walking in circles, Waking Windows is coming to Winooski this weekend. Last weekend, I did the Harrison show and the Vedora show at Manhattan Pizza on Friday, and Max Krauss’ party on Saturday. Some great bands, like Black Rabbit, played some great music.

4.) Tubar Tubar – Black Rabbit
5.) I regret – Chin Ho!
6.) Charlie – Hover
7.) Gentleman – Plan B

Talked about seeing Plan B at Nectar’s in the ’90’s and loving the song with the blunt chorus. Talked about how Brad Searles did so much for Burlington over the years, and how he played in bands such as Hover. Great song from one of the great Burlington bands, Chin Ho! Don’t know what Tubar Tubar means, but love yelling it when seeing them live. Had to choose, since Max was having a party, and at the same time, Blue Button and Dino Bravo were playing. I had to make a choice. I saw good music, but missed good music too. Chris Farnsworth plays in Dino, so here’s him playing in Lobot

8.) An intervention of sorts – Lobot
9.) Opium spy thrill – Ninja Custodian
10.) Nowhere feels like home – Fire the Cannons
11.) Its real again – Zola Turn

Talked about Zola and how girls can rock as hard as the boys. Talked about loving Fire and how, one time, Johnny Aquadora was playing the drums so hard, and he threw a drumstick and it slid on the floor into my foot. I picked it up and still have it. It’s pretty chewed up, he hits really hard. Talked about loving Ninja and Chris’ playing. Talked about how scary it is when someone gets lost and how wonderful when they get found. Talked about how Mother’s day coming up. Said Happy Mother’s Day to my mom.

12.) Mother’s OK – Split Tongue Crow
13.) Where are you tonight? – Lonestar Chain

Talked about the sheet talent in Lonestar, Dedicated the STC song to anyone who has ever got the news that their Mother’s OK. I hope you enjoyed checking out the music of our town. Let’s do it again next week. Shall we?

Outro

promo

Song after: Isn’t it a pity – George Harrison

Song after that: the one that was going to be song 14, then I looked at the clock

Monkey VS Demons – Farm

Leave a Reply

