Radio Show 6 Thursday April 4, 2013 9-10pm Eastern US Time WBKM.ORG   Leave a comment

http://wbkm.org/

I just got back from Radio show number six. Aside from a few songs distorting a bit and a dry mouth, Marco Rubio moment, I think it went pretty well

Song Before: Soon – Jon Anderson

Intro

From our small city to the great big world, these are the sounds of Burlington. Tonight I’m going to cheat and open with an English artist singing a song about Ireland, but when he sang it in Vermont, it really rang true.

1.) O’er (the green mountains) – Jon Anderson

2.) Avalon – Split Tongue Crow

3.) Directly – Construction Joe

4.) Star – The New Siberians

Talked a bit about Ninja and Brendan Devitt going solo and teaming up with Ted Pappadopoulos to form the band. Talked a bit about seeing Construction Joe a few times in the ’90’s and liking them, and finding a couple of cool songs on their CD. I talked about how smooth and elegant STC are and how I’ve enjoyed seeing them play, whenever I get the chance. I talked about getting Mom a Jon Anderson album once and her liking it. I talked about she and dad and I going to see Jon Anderson in Woodstock and how the sun lit up the green mountains. I talked about how the angle of the sun had moved and winter is behind us and spring ahead. I dedicated the next song to Carol Hausner

5.) Angle of the Sun – Peg Tassey

6.) In the Garden of Mystic Lovers – Francis Dunnery

7.) Somewhere over the Rainbow – Aaron Flinn

Talked about sometimes when you play a lot of your music to an audience that does not know you, sometimes a cover can put your sound in context with a song the audience knows. I mentioned the In Rainbows/OK Computer show coming up at Nectar’s on Saturday, and the Damn the Torpedo’s show at Signal Kitchen next Thursday. I talked about how Francis moved to Vermont in 1998-1999 and worked out some music and played it a few times at Metronome. I talked a bit more about Peg, then talked about how when I was young, local music was just so so. A couple of bands came along to try and break that. Many bands have learned from those bands and that is why music in this town is so good. I went back to the source with:

8.) Almost Human – Pinhead

9.) The Blackout – The Static Age

10.) I Don’t know what to Believe – The Red Telephone

Talked about how Red Telephone got singed by Warner Brothers but nothing happened, but at least they wrote a great song about it. I talked about how there is so much great music in town, that I hope someone else breaks through. Grace Potter and Phish are cool, but more bands should get that big. I talked about Marie Claire Johnson playing with the Static Age and a few bands since, and I talked about Bobby Hackney playing drums for SA and now being in Rough Francis. Will they be the next one? Talked about seeing Pinhead at Memorial opening for the Psychedelic Furs. Talked about how many think the next singer is one of the best songwriters and singers in town:

11.) Sail the Sea – Gregory Douglas

12.) Help Wanted – Wide Wail

13.) In the Pines – Vedora

Talked about Vedora rocking hard at Nectar’s last week, talked about seeing Wide Wail in the ’90’s and mentioned the song title for the Gregory’s song.

Let’s do it again next week, shall we?

Outro

Song After – was supposed to be The Chain – Fleetwood Mac, but ended up No One Listen – Ray Davies. I played the Chain after.

Leave a Reply

