timstriangletribune

Just another WordPress.com site

Joe Adler at Nectar’s, Vedora and Doll Fight! at Radio Bean February 2, 2013

Woo hoo, Vedora were set to rock Radio Bean. Having Doll Fight! with them made it even more fun. Oh wait, wasn’t that the same night as Joe Adler and the Rangers of Danger show that was supposed to be the CD release party? Why yes, it was. I looked at the schedule and with Joe going on at 9 and Vedora at 10:30, I thought I had a nice window.

I got out of work at 6, got home and had dinner. I got ready to go out and arrived at Nectar’s just before 9. There was a guy onstage playing, who’s name I missed. He was singing and playing acoustic, but it sounded like a huge sweeping song that would have been cool with a full band. He finished up within a minute or two, and it was time to wait for Joe and the band. I wasn’t worried after 10 or 15 minutes, but as time kept passing without a band, I started eying the clock. I chatted with one of the drummers who played at Metronome at the Girls Rock Vermont benefit, and he and his girlfriend said that Joe’s drummer was held up at at another gig and was running late. I chatted for a bit with Johnnie Day, who was playing with Joe that night. She was going to play an early song with the band, so I was hoping to catch it. I knew I’d miss her later ones.

Finally, just before 10, the drummer arrived and Joe Adler and the Rangers of Danger hit the stage. They opened with the song that Joe sent around to the people who funded the Kickstarter for his album. It was a pretty cool song and they played it well. Eric, who had played mandolin with Joe at the Springsteen cover night, played some sweet lead guitar, and the band sounded great. Yes, the drummer was worth waiting for.

The next two songs were fantastic mixes of subtlety and rock and roll. Next up they brought Samara Lark to the stage for a solid Sympathy for the Devil. The next song sounded cool, but it was late, and I had to go.

I rushed up the street, and walked into Radio Bean as Vedora were set up and almost ready to play.

I got a drink, found a spot to stand, and away they went. Their set was brilliant as always. They played a few from the first album, including a vibrant Terrarium, but much of the set was new songs. In the Room and To Send You are just fantastic pieces of music and I can’t wait for the second album. Until then I am content to hear them unleash the rock and roll on the stage. They wrapped the night with a killer In the Pines/Chain.

Doll Fight! came on next and rocked the place to it’s core. Their punk songs were fast and furious and tons of fun. The audience was enthusiastic to start but half way through the set, the moshing began. I got shoved around a bit, but had a great time. This was set to be the last show with their drummer, which was too bad, as Vedora’s drummer, Jeff LaBossiere had glowing things to say about her. As it turns out, she is playing again this Sunday, when Doll Fight! and Vedora play with Hilly Eye at The Monkey House.

When Doll Fight! wrapped it up, I bought a CD and took the short walk home. I wanted to stay for Trapper Keeper, but was tired, and I had a long day of work on Sunday. I wish I had caught a bit more music that night, but I did my best, and was heavily rewarded for what I was able to catch.

 

February 8, 2013 - Posted by | Rock Shows | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

